In Bruges

Fortunately my trip to Bruges did not involve me hiding out with Colin Farrell at the insistence of my boss Ralph Fiennes πŸ™‚ For those of you who have not seen the film In Bruges, I highly recommend it! I’d heard wonderful things about Bruges and it did not disappoint.

In the Brussels train station, I ran into a lovely couple who were also trying to figure out where the heck to buy tickets to Bruges. We found out where to go and I inevitably ended up crashing their romantic day together – because who wouldn’t want to hang out with a future potential super hero whose sole purpose in life seems to be the pursuit of excellent snackage πŸ™‚

Bruges is a beautiful place to spend the day. It looks like tiny gnomes with great taste in architecture built it πŸ™‚ Tourism seems to be a major industry here, so if you want somewhere a bit off the beaten track, probably best to choose another destination like Ghent. However, I really wanted to see Bruges and I’m very happy I went.

20120701-092214.jpg

20120701-092340.jpg

We came across a small market with artisans selling toys, jewelry and scarves. Of course I needed to fuel my scarf addiction πŸ™‚ Each scarf is one of a kind, hand woven by this awesome guy and sold by his awesome wife.

20120701-092900.jpg

We also went on a boat ride on the canals. Let’s just say safety really isn’t a concern, as the goal is to stuff as many people onto the boat as possible πŸ™‚ Mom, there weren’t any lifejackets either – sorry for freaking you out! Anyway, despite me being someone who’d wear a helmet all the time, I lived on the edge and enjoyed my scenic tour of Bruges by boat.

20120701-093624.jpg

20120701-094503.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Belgium

Leave a Reply

