Dublin – Guinness and awesome crepes

Mom and I went for a tour of the Guinness Factory in Dublin. I’m not a beer fan whatsoever, but it was interesting to see what exactly goes into this dark elixir. An added bonus for beer drinkers – a free pint of Guinness and an incredible view of the city. So what did I figure out about beer (other than I still don’t like it) – well, the hops that go into beer are actually quite pretty πŸ™‚

20120622-225325.jpg

After the tour, we went for lunch at one of the eateries in the factory. The soup was a sodium fiesta but the bread was carbolicious goodness.

20120622-225518.jpg

That evening, my brother & I were craving crepes from Half Moon Crepe Company again. One can get alcohol late at night, but sadly sugar cravings are harder to fill in Dublin at late hours. We ended up at the Bad Ass Cafe and consumed what can only be described as a fiesta of inadequacy. Here is an important lesson: reheating stale cake does not make it good. Putting chocolate sauce and ice cream also adds precious little to the taste experience.

20120622-225834.jpg

Since my brother has labelled me “the food snob”, I was obligated to make up for the horror of this dessert experience. He is seriously not going to let me live this one down….but I hope a second trip to Half Moon did the trick. We ordered a crepe with Nutella & banana, served with ice cream. Banana and the hazelnut in the Nutella renders this virtually a health food – in the parallel universe where my brain usually resides πŸ™‚ I lived off of this spiffy concoction the last time I was in Dublin and it’s nice to see that it’s still as amazing as I remembered it. Only this time I was nice and shared it.

20120622-230349.jpg

I’d recommend crepes in Dublin. I’m sure the Guinness is good if you’re into that kind of thing πŸ™‚ I would recommend the Leprechaun Museum but I was too cheap to go in. At 10 euros a pop, it made me wish I had a box of lucky charms to give to those punky green critters instead πŸ™‚

20120622-230557.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Dublin

2 responses to “Dublin – Guinness and awesome crepes

  1. That very dark cake looks soooo chocolatey! But it was stale? Sad…

  2. Helene

    I suppose it’s not surprising that the leprechaun museum was so expensive. That pot of gold isn’t going to fill itself πŸ˜› That crepe looks delicious and if it was a choice between the museum and the crepe, I think you made the right investment.

Leave a Reply

