Best of 2011

Daisy & I are happy to say good bye to 2011 and hello to 2012!  Although it was the Year of the Rabbit (which technically isn’t over), Daisy was quite disappointed that rabbits did not take over the earth.  Though she has big hopes for the Year of the (rabbit) Dragon and is hoping the fire breathing dragon rabbits will disapprove their way into total world domination 🙂

Here is my best list of 2011.  No, it is not my favourite movies of the year (the Artist, the Muppets and Hugo), but my foodie best list:

1. Best hot chocolate in Vancouver

I have to pick two of them here because one just isn’t enough!  Giovane’s house hot chocolate has a healthy dollop of Nutella in it, making it a great morning snack for your kids (if you believe those Nutella ads and yes I do!).  Mink’s dark hot chocolate is rich, creamy and in my books is healthy enough to qualify as a salad 🙂

Hot chocolate from Giovane

2. Best sugary snack addiction

So many sugary snacks and so little time….but the wannabe French girl in me turned 2011 into the year of the macaron thanks to Thierry in downtown Vancouver.  Not only are they tasty, but they look pretty and are thankfully not messy to eat.  I stopped short of letting the staff at Thierry garnish my wages but it was tough!

Thierry macarons - almost too beautiful to eat!

3. Best cheesecake

With a mom who makes some of the best cheesecake I’ve ever tasted, I must say I don’t try cheesecake when I’m out very often.  However, I recently had a great cheesecake in Saskatoon at Calories Restaurant on Broadway.  I have fond memories of eating their cheesecake while growing up (sorry mom) and I can happily say that the pastry chefs at Calories still make one fantastic cheesecake.  Flavours range from Oreo to toffee and lemon yogurt with berries (healthy – sort of!) For those of you who will hopefully not show up at my mom’s door demanding cheesecake (psst…she’s really nice so if you know me, give it a shot), check out Calories on Broadway!

Mom's cheesecake - nom!

Lunch at Calories on Broadway

4. Best new discovery

Vancouver has a plethora of Meetup groups and one that I have started attending is the Food bloggers meet up, organized by the fabulous Jenny Shen  Not only is it wonderful to be around people who truly adore food, but it’s strangely comforting to be one of many at the table whipping out a camera to photograph it!   I look forward to many more of these meetups in 2012!

Yule log at Ganache, one of the food blogger meetup destinations

5. Cooking class

I didn’t do much in the way of cooking classes in 2011, but I did take an Italian cooking class at the Dirty Apron in Vancouver this summer.  Be sure to wear comfortable footwear and comfy clothing (Gap boyfriend jeans that keep falling down are not recommended!)  What I learned is that making pasta is rather time consuming and panna cotta is very tasty 🙂 I should really take a knife course this year to make up for my dodgy chopping skills but then again I say that every year!

Pasta I made at the Dirty Apron cooking class

Daisy & I wish all of you a happy, food filled 2012!  My resolution – more cooking at home & less eating out.  Wish me luck!

2 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom

2 responses to “Best of 2011

  1. Darlene

    Goos luck with your resolution, but how are you going to report on great place to eat if you go out less. It is one of those catch 22 things : (
    Next you are back in tunetoon, you must try the desserts at Barnes and Noble. Their white (peppermint? ) chai tea… is amazing.

  2. Rach

    Thanks for the recommendation Darlene – you rock! Yes it’s one of those catch 22 resolutions but I hope it means I use my kitchen more and it’s a good excuse for me to get more shiny kitchen objects 🙂

Leave a Reply

