Neat things to do in San Francisco

I didn’t really plan much to do when I was in San Francisco.  My extent of planning was booking a place to stay and a flight.  Otherwise, I figured I’d do whatever seemed reasonable at the time – which was a whole lot of eating.  Other than stuffing my pie hole, here are a few neat things I did in San Francisco. I mean I had to do something in between meals and snack time!

1. Renegade Craft Fair

The biggest craft fair I’ve ever been to, this place was chock full of crafty hipsters and lots of 80s music (the only thing my lone neuron remembers with any clarity over the years).  I’ve never seen so many Ray bans and skinny jeans in my life. This place was awesome and sadly it was only a 2 day event, so if you missed it in SF, too bad.  However, it seems to travel throughout the US, so check to see if it will be in a city near you. I’m thinking a trip to Austin, Texas in November wouldn’t be a bad idea….yes I’m obsessed with Austin even though I’ve never been there….

Behold the crafty goodness at the Renegade Craft Fair

One of my crafty purchases....

2. SF Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)

My cousin and I went to the Stein family exhibit at SF MoMA… because who didn’t move to Paris and have a fabulous life as friends of Matisse and Picasso…..Best part had to be the photographs showing where these priceless pieces were hanging in a study or living room.  Somehow I don’t think my cheese and candy photos I have hanging in my living room quite measure up….did I mention I took them myself with a digital camera from Shoppers Drug Mart???

The roof top at SF MoMA

Pretty art cake at Blue Bottle Coffee at SF MoMA - photo by Aysha the fabulous one!

3. Japanese Tea Garden in Golden Gate Park

Serene, peaceful and the perfect place to get away from the bustle of the city.  I got over my disappointment that the de Young Museum was closed on a Monday and instead enjoyed the beauty of this garden.  This is definitely a place I want to go back to.  An added bonus is that you can eat mushy weird cake things and have tea while looking at the greenery.

Japanese Tea Gardens....serenity now....

Mochi cakes and jasmine tea....

4. The Ferry Building

We went to the Ferry Building to check out the food stands and restaurants.  I stopped at Recchiuti Confections and resisted purchasing the whole store, but still managed to bring home a bag full of chocolate goodies.  We also checked out the beautiful Heath ceramics, sampled macarons at Miette and had an incredible dinner at the MarketBar.

Mushroom & arugula flatbread from MarketBar - nom!

The best part of my trip to SF was definitely spending time with my family.  To my cousin Aysha, you are the most incredible person and I’m so lucky to have you as part of my family!  I can’t wait for our future adventures together 🙂

My beautiful, fabulous cousin!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Home decor, Nom nom nom

2 responses to “Neat things to do in San Francisco

  1. Just getting to see all this now. It looks like you had a blast in SF which isn’t surprising, SF being SF. That Mondrian cake, however, is the cat’s pyjamas. I’ll bet someone could come up with a killer chocolate/vanilla minature replication Robert Smithson’s “Spiral Jetty.”

    • Rach

      The desserts at the SF MoMA were works of art in themselves! Next time I’m going to eat a bunch of them. Oooh – I like your dessert idea! I also would love it if there could be an Escher drawing brought to life with cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

