Mark Bittman’s Mexican Chocolate Tofu Pudding

I was saddened to read that this was the last week for Mark Bittman’s Minimalist column in the NY Times.  Although I look forward to reading his new column focusing on food policy and other cool issues, I will miss the Minimalist and his fabulous recipes.
For the full recipe and instructional video, please see Mexican Chocolate Tofu Pudding

I’m generally a tad skeptical about desserts made with tofu because me likey butter and sugar far too much.  After trying this recipe, I’m a convert to silken tofu and I’m imagining all of the nifty desserts I can make with it.

Here’s what you’ll need for this recipe (with my modifications):

* 3/4 cup sugar

*1 pound silken tofu – I used about 1 & 2/3 packages of Mori-Nu Silken Lite Tofu (each package is 349 g)

* 8 ounces of bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, melted.  I used 1 package of Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate squares.  If you plan to make the recipe vegan, make sure the chocolate has no milk ingredients

* 1 tsp vanilla extract – I just dumped some of the Mexican vanilla extract I have in my cupboard

* 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

* 1/2 tsp chili powder – I omitted it, but I imagine it would taste wonderful

* I added in a pinch of sea salt because chocolate + salt = swooning…

Optional – chocolate shavings. A couple of fresh raspberries or strawberries would also be lovely

Combine sugar and 3/4 cup of water in a small pot on the stove.  Bring the mixture to a boil, stir a bit and cook until the sugar is dissolved.  Let this mixture cool slightly.

Sugar, meet water...now start boiling!

Melty chocolate goodness....

If you actually follow the recipe correctly, the next step is to put all the ingredients except the chocolate shavings into a blender and puree until smooth, stopping to scrape the sides of the blender.

Tofu & friends, waiting for chocolate to join them...

Since I didn’t bother to do anything in order, I proceeded to throw everything into the blender except the sugary water because I was still boiling it.  I must be the only person terrified of her blender – one hot soup blender explosion is one too many in my view and I just didn’t feel like more therapy sessions to deal with my blender issues.  Instead I decided to blend the tofu choco spice mixture (lots of scraping involved).  Then I added the sugar water once it had cooled, took the little top part off the blender and covered it with a paper towel before turning the blender on.  Explosion prevented – woo hoo!…..and it made it easy to pour into ramekins.  Chill those little guys for at least 30 mins in the fridge.

Tofu, chocolate & sugar….it’s a good thing 🙂  Mark Bittman, thank you for making food so accessible to home “chefs” like me.  You rock!

ummm.....pudding....

14 Comments

Filed under Recipes

14 responses to “Mark Bittman’s Mexican Chocolate Tofu Pudding

  1. Darcy

    I think I might actually try this one! Not today though as it would require driving through a blizzard.

    • Rach

      Blizzard – eek! Best to stay inside and wait until it stops. I wouldn’t guess this pudding had tofu in it, so I was very impressed 🙂

  2. miranda

    nice blender…waring?

  3. leslie

    Did anyone notice that Mark Bittman’s written recipe is like your preparation above (3/4 C sugar, 3/4 C water), but if you watch the NYTimes video, it includes 3/4 C sugar syrup? Does the 3/4 C sugar and 3/4 C water yield 3/4 C of syrup?
    Thanks.
    Leslie

    • Rach

      Hi Leslie,
      I haven’t watched the NYTimes video, but I’m going to make the assumption that the 3/4 cup sugar syrup is the 3/4 cup sugar & 3/4 cup water mixture after it has been boiled.
      btw, I’m guessing the video is way more helpful than my blog post 🙂
      Thanks!
      Rachel

      • leslie

        It is definitely worthwhile to watch the video. It’s fun.

        The reason that I asked about the sugar syrup is because in the video Mark Bittman suggests one can make it with 1/2 a cup each of sugar and water and then possibly having some left over. At least that is the way I understood it. If that is the case, the 3/4 cup does not make sense. But since yours came out, I am going to go ahead with it. I finally bought the tofu.
        Thanks.
        Leslie

      • Rach

        Leslie, thanks for your comment below. This definitely makes me want to watch the video and gives me food for thought about the whole sugar syrup issue. The 3/4 cup sugar in 3/4 cup water mixture, brought to a boil worked, but now I’m curious if this other method would work…..I also recommend using good quality chocolate. Baker’s chocolate is fine, but I noticed that it did result in chunks of chocolate in my pudding. Not a big deal but if you love smooth pudding, maybe experiment with higher end chocolate 🙂 I think the recipe is a great base to experiment on and I can’t wait to try different flavours. I’m thinking Nutella would be awesome!
        Let me know how your pudding works out! I’m constantly learning in the kitchen and if you have suggestions/helpful hints, I’m all ears 🙂

        Cheers,
        Rachel

  4. leslie

    Forgot to ask to be notified of follow-up comments and new posts, so I am adding this!

    • leslie

      I just made the pudding. Wonderful. I did what you did – 3/4 cup sugar and 3/4 cup water – exactly what the written recipe required. By the way, I put the chocolate into the sugary mixture after it boiled in order to melt the chocolate. I’m with you in saving steps.

      Leslie

      • Rach

        Mark Bittman is a genius – he knows his stuff 🙂 What a great suggestion for saving steps – I never would’ve thought to do that! I love getting awesome suggestions to save time 🙂 Thanks!

  5. looks great! who knew.. tofu and chocolate. I’ve had a number of failed attempts using soy milk when baking, but didnt think of tofu. hmm..

    • Rach

      Krista, I was completely shocked about the tofu/chocolate combo. Silken tofu when blended has a wonderful texture. It reminds me of cream cheese! Last night I blended melted chocolate chips and natural peanut butter into the stuff – works beautifully!

  6. I made the pudding twice. I think it is a bit heavier than regular pudding, and while it is a fun thing to do the first couple of times, I don’t think that it is that great to do again. Other than being impressed by the idea, the guests didn’t find it something exceptional. Anyone else feel that way?

Leave a Reply

