Recipe – Chocolate pudding

First of all, my apologies for being such a slacker blogger.  Starting a new job, working on “project wellness” and being mom to a bunny who seeks total world domination have kept me rather busy lately.  I am also a slave to leisure…Anyway, here’s a chocolate pudding recipe I tried from my beloved Cook’s Illustrated.  One of these days I want to be in their audience or get to hang out with the gadget guy..

This chocolate pudding recipe is for two people – or one really hungry one.  Here’s what you’ll need:

* 1 ounce bittersweet chocolate (I used one square of semi-sweet)

* 1 Tbsp cocoa

* 2 Tbsp cornstarch

* 1/4 cup sugar

* Pinch of table salt (don’t pinch too hard or it gets grumpy!)

* 1 1/4 cups milk (either whole milk or 2% – I opted for 2% to render it salad-like)

* 1 tsp vanilla extract

Melt the chocolate either in the microwave or double boiler.  Since I don’t have a double boiler, I opted for the quick & easy microwave route.  Just make sure to use medium power because burnt chocolate is like a crime against humanity.

Next whisk the cocoa powder, cornstarch, sugar and salt together in a saucepan.  Add in the milk and whisk, then whisk in the melted chocolate.

Whisking in the melted chocolate...nommy!

This chocolate milky mixture now needs to be brought to a boil over medium heat and keep whisking away until it is smooth as silk (if the silk were pudding).  When the mixture has boiled, reduce the heat to low and cook this pudding goodness, stirring for about 2 minutes with something that is non-melty and heatproof (wooden spoon, now is your time to shine baby!)  The mixture should become glossy and thick – kinda like hair from a Pantene commercial.

Take this glossy Pantene-esque pudding off of the heat and add in the vanilla.  I used the eyeballing method when adding in my vanilla – it seemed kinda like 1 tsp but it could’ve been more.

Now this is the part of the recipe that I neglected because I’m lazy.  Did I mention I’m a slave to leisure?  Leisure slave here did not pour the pudding through a fine-mesh strainer into a bowl to get rid of the lumps and bumps.  If bumpy, lumpy pudding freaks you out, then don’t skip this step! Strain the pudding and push on those punky little lumpy bumps with a spoon or whatever else you feel like using that isn’t too pointy!  If you have pudding skin issues, put plastic wrap directly on the pudding’s surface.  I just covered the bowl with plastic wrap as I don’t have huge pudding skin issues.  Refrigerate for 4 hours or until chilled completely. Stir gently and pour into bowls for serving.

I didn’t bother refrigerating for 4 hours because I wanted to eat my lumpy, bumpy chocolatey pudding goodness.  I must say it was rather tasty, bumps & all!

Chocolate pudding goodness: bowl, Orling & Wu; placemat, gas station outside Paris

Leave a comment

Filed under Nom nom nom, Recipes

Leave a Reply

