Recipe: Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies

The best thing to come out of my law school experience was a degree written in Latin that I can’t read and a decent chocolate chip cookie recipe from one of my classmates.  Of course I’ve felt free to make a few changes to the recipe in my attempt to make it more similar to a salad.

Here’s what you’ll need for les cookies:

* 1/2 cup soft margarine (I used unsalted margarine in a tub and of course look for trans fat free)

* 1/2 cup butter, softened (again, unsalted)

* 1 cup brown sugar, packed

* 1 cup white sugar

* 2 eggs

* 2 Tbsp milk

* 2 tsp vanillla

* 2 cups flour (I opted for whole wheat flour to make it a bit healthier)

* 1 tsp each of baking powder, baking soda and salt

* 2 cups quick cooking oats

* chocolate chips

* nuts (I left them out)

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Cream together the margarine, butter and sugars.  I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to do this.  No I am not a spokesperson for said mixer, it’s just the love of my life ❤

Next add the milk, eggs and vanilla and mix.

Sugars, butter & margarine meeting for the first time...

Mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Add these ingredients to the eggy sugary wet mixture and blend.

Whole wheat flour - could it get any healthier??

Next add in the fiber wunderkind quick cooking oats and blend.  Add in approximately 2 cups of chocolate chips and the nuts (if your inner squirrel is screaming for them) and blend.

The recipe recommends refrigerating the dough for 1 hour and baking for 10-12 minutes.  If you are impatient like me, I’d say a good 15-20 minutes in the fridge will suffice and then you can commence with a good old fashioned cookie throw down on a baking sheet.

Do not attempt to add too many pans of cookies into a tiny gnome oven.  Trust me on this one – do one pan at a time.  If you have a regular sized oven and/or multiple ovens, just ignore this and bake away!

Cookie dough goodness...

Cookie Cookie Cookie is for me!

1 Comment

Filed under Nom nom nom, Recipes

One response to “Recipe: Rocky Mountain Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Excellent post! I really enjoyed reading it. I will be back for more!
    Sincerely,

Leave a Reply

