Recipe: chocolate chip cookies with Nutella

I love, or rather am in frightened awe of Martha Stewart.  I’m convinced she’s either a cyborg from the future or one of the V aliens with wicked powers that include folding a fitted sheet perfectly and making tiny cities for hungry ants out of marzipan.  Whatever your views of Martha, she has a few recipes that mere mortals like myself can tackle – and I can Frankenstein into something a bit different.

The original recipe is for oatmeal toffee cookies from Martha Stewart back in 1996 or 1997.  I’ve made a few changes, so I will give you my new fangled recipe that has Nutella.  No I do not own any interest in Nutella, but maybe I should….

For the oatmeal chocolate chip Nutella cookies, you will need the following:

* 1 1/2 cups of flour – I used whole wheat flour to make it slightly healthier

* 1 tsp baking soda

* 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks) at room temp

* 3/4 cup white sugar

* 3/4 cups brown sugar

* 1 egg

* 1 1/2 cups rolled oats

* 1-2 cups chocolate chips

* 1/4 cup Nutella – at least that’s how much I think I used.  I must remember to actually write things down…..duoh!

In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and baking soda.  If you’re feeling super industrious, sift them instead of just mixing them.

Using my trusty Kitchen Aid Mixer, I creamed the butter, then added in the white and brown sugar and mixed in the sugary goodness.  Next add in the egg and vanilla and blend.  Add in the flour mixture and blend, followed by the rolled oats and blend this in.

Cookie dough in progress....

Add Nutella to the mixture and blend.  The mixture will be very chocolatey looking.

Hello Nutella...welcome to the cookie dough!

Next add in however many chocolate chips you feel are necessary – a tough judgment call indeed!

Finished cookie dough - eat it or bake it!

Once you’ve blended all of these fine ingredients together, you can take the lazy route and refrigerate the entire bowl.  If you’re feeling like you want to freeze the dough or you have a tiny gnome fridge, get out the plastic wrap and make three dough logs.  Wrap each one individually and place in the fridge or freezer for use later on.

I used my cookie scoop to throw the cold dough down on a baking sheet and baked it at 350F for 8-10 minutes.  I prefer a slightly gooey cookie, so I’m not so exact with my time and go by smell and looks. Try not to wear white clothing while eating it or else you’ll be searching for Martha’s stain removal tricks!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Recipe: chocolate chip cookies with Nutella

  1. Vanessa

    Sounds delicious, can’t wait to try it! 🙂

  2. Gumma

    They sound delicioso and some would be greatly appreciated par deux petite jeune filles et grand mere at thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

