Recipe: Chicken salad with French vinaigrette

Salad is an important part of my “food cancellation” theory (salad cancels chocolate and anything else sugary).  It has no scientific basis whatsoever, but that’s a minor detail…Wanting something a bit lighter for dinner the other night, I made a chicken salad with French vinaigrette that totally kicked butt!

The completely genius vinaigrette recipe is courtesy of www.epicurious.com This oldie but goodie was originally published in 1952.   You will need the following for the vinaigrette:

* 1/4 cup white wine vinegar (I used white balsamic vinegar)

* 2 Tbsp chopped shallot

* 1/2 tsp salt (I used sea salt)

* 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard (I added a bit more because I love mustard)

* 1/4 tsp black pepper

* 3/4 cup olive oil

Whisk together the first 5 ingredients until the salt dissolves.  Then add the oil slowly, whisking until it has emulsified.  The dressing will keep covered and in the fridge for up to 1 month.

Nommy vinaigrette....

Now for the chicken salad part.  I sauteed chopped chicken breasts with olive oil and a little black pepper.  If you have leftover chicken, throw that in instead (anything to save some time!)

For veggies, I used a selection of mixed greens, one ripe avocado (chopped up), chopped up a whole lot of sundried tomatoes (the ones that don’t come packed in oil) and a few baby carrots because they were lying in my crisper and practically screamed “pick me, pick me!”  Who am I to turn down the plaintive wails of lonely vegetables….

A veritable veggie fiesta - ole!

Next comes the fun part:  place the chicken on the veggies, throw on some dressing (as much or as little as you’re in the mood for) and toss away!  If you’re anything like me, tossing salad means the kitchen counter gets to eat some salad too.

Super nommy salad!

While tossing the salad, I found the ripe avocado became nicely mooshed and mixed into the salad, adding to the wonderful taste sensation. This salad will definitely be going into heavy rotation in the gnome home 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom, Recipes

2 responses to “Recipe: Chicken salad with French vinaigrette

  1. kookiemaster

    What brand of tomatoes do you get? I always find that the dried ones at the store are the consistency of shoe leather and unappealing unless I soak them for a few hours.

    I made my own a few times (it’s pretty easy in the oven, italian tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, salt, oil) … only problem is, it smells very good and it’s hard to resist eating most of them whilst they are drying up.

    • Rach

      I bought Bella Sun Luci sundried tomatoes. Apparently they are extra moist (and they are!) I know exactly the shoe leather ones you’re talking about. these ones are really good.

      I should make my own sometime but I was too lazy. plus I’d be eating all of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

