Dinner at Salaam Bombay

I went for dinner the other night with my other brother and we settled on Indian food at Salaam Bombay in downtown Vancouver.  The restaurant is spacious, with a lovely view of the happenings on Burrard Street and the servers were polite and attentive.  The food was fine, but not the best Indian food I’ve had in this city.

We started out with vegetable samosas.  The samosas were decently nommy and I enjoyed the two sauces that accompanied them.

Samosa goodness....

For our main courses, we ordered chicken tikka, pulao rice, butter chicken, chana masala, naan and roti.

My favourite was the butter chicken – chunks of tender chicken swimming in a rich, creamy sauce….nom.  I particularly enjoyed dipping my roti into the supremely nommy sauce.

Butter chicken goodness & chana masala

Chicken tikka

Carbolicious naan....

My least favourite part of the meal was the chana masala.  I adore chickpeas but this dish was too salty for my taste.  The quest continues for decent chana masala…hopefully it won’t involve me flying to Mumbai, but if that’s what it takes I’ll do what I have to 🙂

Salaam Bombay is located 755 Burrard Street in downtown Vancouver.

1 Comment

Filed under Nom nom nom

One response to “Dinner at Salaam Bombay

  1. Michele

    Now I’m hungry! That looks way better than Spicy Bite. I might just have to attempt some homemade chana masala.

Leave a Reply

