Recipe: Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate cream cheese frosting

After a moratorium on baking due to my sugar addiction (the white beast is my master…..) I decided it was about time I got back to it.  There is a fabulous and simple chocolate fudge cake recipe from Fine Cooking magazine that I haven’t made in a long time and I thought I should top it with chocolate cream cheese frosting this time.

What I love about Fine Cooking magazine is that they include nommy recipes and tips for home cooks like me that can be done quickly and easily in a gnome sized kitchen.   This fudge cake includes the following ingredients:

* 1 cup all purpose flour

* 1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp unsweetened natural cocoa

* 1/2 tsp baking soda

* 1/4 tsp table salt

* 1/2 cup melted unsalted butter (1 stick)

*1/2 cups packed brown sugar

*2 large eggs

* 1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup hot water

Preheat your oven to 350F and grease a 8×2 or 9×2-inch round cake pan (lining with parchment is another option).  I opted for the 8×2 inch round pan and I greased it with olive oil.  Trust me, it works!

Whisk together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a bowl.  I opted to add a pinch of sea salt rather than table salt.  Do whichever you prefer as my understanding is the salt will assist in bringing forth the chocolatey flavour – nommy….

Dry ingredients in a pretty red bowl: flour, cocoa, baking soda & salt

You’re supposed to sift the dry ingredients if they are lumpy (as mine were) but I was feeling lazy and figured copious quantities of frosting would cover up any imperfections 🙂

The next step is to melt the 1/2 cup of butter (I recommend using the microwave for this) and combining it with brown sugar in a separate bowl.

Warm buttery, sugary goodness...Bowl by Kitchen Aid, spatula by Williams-Sonoma

Next I added two omega 3 eggs and vanilla extract my dear friend brought me from Mexico, and combined this with the sugar-butter concoction. Notice what a good job I did cracking the eggs 🙂

Eggs & vanilla jumped into the bowl and all was right in the world...

And now the best part:  the dry ingredients get to make friends with vanilla, egg, sugar & butter in the shiny silver bowl! I combined the dry ingredients gradually because they can be a little bit shy, blending with my trusty robin’s egg blue Williams-Sonoma rubber spatula (sadly I get no discount for mentioning their products).

When dry ingredients meet their sugary, buttery friends...

Because they became such a tight group of pals in the bowl, it was necessary to add in the 1/2 cup of water to make the cake batter thinner.  This resulted in batter that easily poured into the prepared cake pan.

Cake batter before pouring it into the pan....

....and after....

Bake the cake for approximately 35-40 minutes.  If you are using the 9 inch pan, bake for approximately 30 minutes or less.  With the gnome oven, it took approximately 35 minutes for my sparkly cake tester to come out clean from poking the centre of the fluffy, chocolate cakey goodness….

I waited for the cake to cool off and then set about making the frosting.  It is my go to cream cheese frosting recipe from Bon Appetit’s cookbook and the one I use for my Nutella frosting.

Here is what you’ll need for the chocolate cream cheese frosting:

*2 cups icing sugar (called powdered sugar outside Canada)

* 1 -8 ounce package of Philadelphia cream cheese, room temperature

* 1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened

* 2 tsp vanilla extract

* 3 squares of Bakers semi-sweet chocolate, melted

Cream together the cream cheese (I recommend using light cream cheese – it’s almost like having a salad), unsalted butter and vanilla extract.  Add the icing sugar slowly and keep on creaming this dreamy mixture together.  Meanwhile melt the 3 squares of semi-sweet chocolate.  I recommend using the microwave on medium power for about 2 minutes to begin with.  Check and add more time if necessary.  Do not use high power or you risk burning the chocolate and there’s no worse fate for chocolate than that! Once the chocolate is melted, add it to the frosting and blend away.

Drool...nommy sweet frosting goodness....

Behold the supremely nommy frosting (eat a spoonful of it for all of your hard work)  When the cake is cool, cover with a ridiculously thick layer of this nomminess and be prepared for everyone to worship your baking prowess!  Those who bake, rock.  Those who eat it, also rock.  Oh heck, we all rock.  Now go bake some cake!

Fudge cake....before it was devoured!

7 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom, Recipes

7 responses to “Recipe: Chocolate fudge cake with chocolate cream cheese frosting

  1. Tes

    Chocolate cream cheese frosting make me drool… thanks for sharing.

  2. Sandra

    Looks nice and yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will surely try this out.

    Take the <a href="http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/cake-personality/cake-personality_instructions.asp"Cake Personality Test and find out which cake are you like. I have taken the test and have enjoyed a lot. Hope you too will enjoy it. Have Fun!!

    • Rach

      You’re welcome Sandra! Let me know how you like it. I think I’m going to tamper with the recipe and add in melted chocolate to the cake batter next time. Will let you know how that works out 🙂

  3. Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks 🙂

  4. Gumma

    I must try this but I might just go for the frosting and forget about the cake.

    • Rach

      lol! Gumma, you’ll end up with a large bowl of excess frosting – or else you can end up with a giant bowl of frosting alone. Guaranteed to give you a bit of a sugar rush 🙂

Leave a Reply

