Recipe: Curried Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew

I found a recipe for Curried Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew on http://www.epicurious.com, but after reading the recipe comments, I decided to create a hybrid “Frankencurry”.  I took a number of ingredients from the epicurious recipe and melded them with my favourite Chicken Tikka Masala recipe from Cooks Illustrated to create a curried cauliflower & chickpea masala.

Here’s what you’ll need for le “Frankencurry”:

* 1 chopped onion

* 1 head of cauliflower, chopped into reasonably sized pieces (do not finely mince it)

* 2 cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

* 2 cloves of garlic, minced

* approximately 2 tsp of grated fresh ginger

* 1 Tbsp tomato paste

* 1 Tbsp garam masala

* 1 28-oz can of crushed tomatoes

* fresh cilantro, chopped (approximately 3/4 a cup)

* half & half cream

I started by heating olive oil in my handy Dutch oven, then added the diced onion and sauteed until the onion became tender and light brown.  Then I added the garlic, ginger, tomato paste and garam masala, stirring for a couple of minutes until it smelled fragrant and nommy.  Next I added cauliflower and sauteed for several minutes until it had softened.  I’m cursed with an electric gnome sized stove, hence why it took several minutes to soften.  If you have a gas stove, consider yourself fortunate and invite me over for dinner…I digress…Then the chickpeas, crushed tomatoes and cilantro joined in on the fun.  I mixed up this heady concoction and added in a splash of half & half cream (add more if you’re not trying to fit into half your closet).  Next came my friend cilantro and then I let this baby simmer on low heat.

I must say this “Frankencurry” turned out to be quite a fiesta of tasty goodness.  Who knows what I will create in my gnome kitchen lab next time……

"Frankencurry"

2 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom, Recipes

2 responses to “Recipe: Curried Cauliflower & Chickpea Stew

  1. You have done it once more! Amazing read.

    • Rach

      aww – thanks Hollie! I’m so glad you enjoyed reading it 🙂 Promise there will be more “franken” recipes to come!

Leave a Reply

