Dijon chicken – a recipe for kitchen experimentation

After perusing one of my favourite web sites http://www.epicurious.com/ – I decided not to follow any particular recipe and improvise when I made tonight’s meal of Dijon chicken.  It wasn’t supremely nommy but it wasn’t too bad either.

Here’s what I used:

* boneless skinless chicken thighs

* 2 cloves of garlic, minced

* an assortment of exotic mushrooms from Urban Fare

* approximately 3 Tbsp of Maille Dijon mustard

* a pinch of half and half cream

* crushed red peppers

I began by heating olive oil in a saute pan, then adding the chicken to the pan to brown it slightly.  I added the garlic and the mushrooms to the chicken, sauteing a few minutes longer.  Then I went a little crazy with the Maille Dijon mustard, adding approximately 3 Tbsp of it – maybe a little more. It was a spectacular yellow fiesta in the pan.  Once the chicken and mushrooms were enveloped in the mustard fiesta, I added crushed red peppers because it just screamed for more colour and heat.  The last addition was a smidgen of half and half cream.  Don’t ask me exactly how much a smidgen is – just pour for a couple of seconds and that should do the trick 🙂

The results were tasty, though a tad too mustardy.  However, the colour was quite lovely.  Next time I will add less mustard and some white wine.

Dijon chicken experimentation

Leave a comment

Filed under Nom nom nom, Recipes

Leave a Reply

