Recipe: red curry chicken with shiitake mushrooms

Due to half my closet not fitting and sugary snacks becoming a crucial part of my everyday life, I decided to try giving up the white beast for a little while and concentrate on healthier eating.  Aside from my new habit of sniffing cookie containers (more than a little pathetic I know), there is an upside to this healthy eating thing – new food loves.  Lately I’ve fallen head over heels for the exotic and supremely nommy shiitake mushroom.

I’ve been incorporating these lovely mushrooms into a very quick and easy red curry with chicken.  I begin by sauteing approximately half a jar of red curry paste (around 3-4 Tbsp) in a large saute pan with a bit of olive oil.  To this I add sliced shiitake mushrooms, one can of sliced bamboo, steamed broccoli and an assortment of colourful, sliced peppers.  Saute vegetables until tender and add in approximately 2 sliced boneless, skinless chicken breasts.   Once the chicken has cooked for a few minutes, I add 1/4 cup of reduced fat coconut milk, plus a tablespoon or so more.   Simmer this mixture of colourful goodness until the chicken is tender and no longer pink inside.  Enjoy!

Red curry chicken with shiitake mushrooms and veggies - nom!

Leave a comment

Filed under Nom nom nom, Recipes

Leave a Reply

