Home for a Thanksgiving of amazing food

Sorry this post is a little late, but I blame the fact that I didn’t take baby pomme (aka my Mac) with me for the Thanksgiving holiday (or else I’m just a slacker, but let’s pretend we didn’t read that!)  

I was fortunate to grow up in a home with great food and a mom who is a fabulous cook.  We won’t discuss my dad because he has a penchant for attempting things with the microwave that end up looking like doorstops.  This Thanksgiving, mom certainly didn’t disappoint and she outdid herself yet again.  We had turkey, yams, wasabi mashed potatoes (made just for me), gorgeous rice stuffing with sausage and to cancel it all out, a salad with sugared pecans and strawberries and a few other green veggies 🙂  

Rice stuffing...what was left of it after we demolished it

What remained of the rice stuffing....

 

Apres meal carnage...

Apres meal carnage...

My mom is also an amazing baker and treated us to homemade pecan pie and pumpkin cheesecake.  And I wonder why I’ll need to invest in a whole lot of “buffet clothing” for my next visit home 🙂

ummm....pie...

ummm....pie...

Pumpkin cheesecake goodness - miam miam!

Pumpkin cheesecake goodness - miam miam!

Despite the bad weather on the prairies, I can’t wait to return home for more foodie goodness at Christmas time!  I’d give out my parents’ address, but I don’t think they want everyone showing up asking for pie 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom

6 responses to “Home for a Thanksgiving of amazing food

  1. Wow, what a lovely meal ! I have never had rice stuffing but anything w/sausages is always a winner. The Pecan Pie looks delicious…you are very lucky to have such a fabulous cook/baker for a Mom. Though it is always a bonus when you have to fly somewhere to be w/ your family that you get to enjoy great food AND everyones’ company 🙂

  2. kookiemaster

    Yum! Pumpkin Cheescake AND Pecan Pie. Does your family have room for an adoptive kid?

    • Rach

      Yes, I think they’d have room for an adoptive kid 🙂 Mom told me to bring people home with me, so feel free to come for Christmas – with -30 weather 🙂 My parents are also food pushers, so you’ll be well fed!

  3. Moose

    Hey,

    Finally checked out the blog again. Nice photos, tasty food. Aren’t you overdue for another post?

    Moose

Leave a Reply

