Salty Tongue Cafe

The Salty Tongue Cafe has become a favourite of mine in my short time in Vancouver.  Located in Gastown, it’s the antithesis of the impersonal cafe (not that there’s anything wrong with running to Starbucks for a quick fix – I am a yuppie afterall!).  This is a place where one becomes a regular and the service is warm and friendly.

The interior consists primarily of a beautiful long table that make me want to linger for hours over a coffee while being a not so subtle food voyeur.  

The Salty Tongue serves a variety of sandwiches to order, soups and other assorted foods that I have yet to sample.  The yummy sandwiches are made to order and the bread is soft and squishy….my friend almost licked her bowl of carrot coconut soup, so that should give you some indication of how good it is (or that her manners are dodgy…:)

The only downside I’ve experienced at the Salty Tongue would be the hit & miss quality of the baked goods by Butter.  They are beautifully packaged, appealing to my girly side.  However, the bar with the marshmallows was like a home ec project gone tragically wrong. The base was supposed to be chocolate but it was chocolate from the ninth circle of hell – chalky and flavourless.  When you’re almost wishing for carob, that’s a very bad sign indeed!  Despite that crime against humanity, Butter makes a mean Dream bar (perhaps named so you’d forget the nightmare of the other craptacular experience) and a tasty Nanaimo bar.  Stick with those and you won’t be disappointed!

Carrot & coconut soup

Carrot & coconut soup

Dream bar....sooo dreamy good....

Dream bar....sooo dreamy good....

The Salty Tongue is located on Carrall Street in Vancouver’s Gastown district.

4 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom

4 responses to “Salty Tongue Cafe

  1. Michele

    Your pvr Twitter was hilarious.

    Reminds me of when I thought that our wireless router wasn’t working. Turns out that you have to actually turn the wireless receiver “on”. There is a tiny switch on the front of the laptop. Thankfully, the help desk guy didn’t laugh out loud.

    • Rach

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who is technically challenged, but I kid you not – I’m a total dumb ass with this digital cable thing. Here I’m wondering why I can’t play back an episode of Mad Men when it turns out the tiny box doesn’t contain the pvr. I mean how was I supposed to know a pvr is a big silver thingy! and don’t get me started on my “universal remote” – half the time I end up using the regular tv remote because I seem to turn off the tv when I turn on the stupid digital box! it’s too much for my one neuron to handle…

  2. Tiffani

    Just reading your posts from the past few weeks – omg, you’re a good, funny writer!! Wish I could be your coffee/lunch/dinner companion. Food sounds and looks DIVINE.

    • Rach

      Awww…thanks babe! I wish you were here to come out with me and watch me photograph food 🙂 There’s a good film school here…. lol!

Leave a Reply

