Dinner at Papaye Verte & dessert at Oh So Good

Since the movers came on Wednesday, I have almost nothing to cook with and precious little to eat with (fyi – chopsticks make great coffee stir sticks).  I took a break from eating President’s Choice frozen microwave items to have dinner at Papaye Verte with a group of my fabulous friends.  

We started off with shrimp chips and sumptuous spicy peanut sauce (miam miam!).  I still have packing on the brain because all I could think was “those chips would make excellent packing material”. 

Appetizer or biodegradable packing material?

Appetizer or biodegradable packing material?

Two of my friends ordered deep fried tofu goodness…

Deep fried tofu

Deep fried tofu

I strayed from my usual stir fry to order a red curry with chicken.  It did not disappoint and the sauce was decently spicy without being a festival of fire for my mouth. My other dining companions ordered the combination platter (lots of bang for the buck), pad thai, chicken cashew stir fry and a vegetarian stir fry. 

le combination

le combination

Following dinner, we went to Oh So Good for dessert (love hanging out with fellow sugar lovers!)  After almost licking the showcase fully of sugary snacks, we finally decided on desserts.  These included two slices of raspberry chocolate truffle cake (no big shock I was one of the choco eaters), one slice of double chocolate fudge, fruit pie and lemon blueberry cheesecake.  

I scarfed down my slice in no time flat.  Not sure that’s something I should be so proud of, but who cares – it was good cake! I washed down any remaining cake bits with a delicious mochaccino – MIAM MIAM!!

Two thumbs up for the chocolate raspberry truffle cake

Two thumbs up for the chocolate raspberry truffle cake

Double chocolate fudge....

Double chocolate fudge....

Multi fruit pie

Multi fruit pie

Lemon blueberry cheesecake

Lemon blueberry cheesecake

Although the food was wonderful, the company was even better.  My dear friends, thank you so much for a fantastic evening!

Papaye Verte is located at Queen Street in downtown Ottawa.  Oh So Good is on York Street in Ottawa’s Byward Market.

3 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom

3 responses to “Dinner at Papaye Verte & dessert at Oh So Good

  1. ST

    Feeling rested this morning. Now all I can think is “damn those look good, how could I have missed that!”. What was I thinking?

    • Rach

      Yes indeed – what were you thinking?? A coffee and cake and you would’ve been good to go. Plus you missed my food squishing 🙂

  2. I have beautiful thumbs. I could be a hand model.

Leave a Reply

