The Secret Garden

I went for high tea with my wonderful friends to the Secret Garden, an uber girly tea house in the Kerrisdale neighbourhood of Vancouver. My friends opted for the demi high tea, which offers finger sandwiches as well as sweets.  I opted for the mini high tea, which features your choice of 3 sweets and a scone with raspberry jam and cream.  

For my tea selection, I chose creamy earl grey.  This is a sweet twist on regular earl grey, with a hint of vanilla.  For my sweets, I chose a Linzer cookie, a chocolate raspberry brownie and a pecan square.

High tea at the Secret Garden

High tea at the Secret Garden

My favourite by far was the brownie, with its fabulously rich frosting.  I didn’t really taste raspberry in it, but I didn’t care since the frosting made my taste buds do a little dance of joy.  The pecan square could have been cooked a bit less, as it was a tad on the firm side for my liking.  The Linzer cookie was lovely but could not surpass the brownie in taste excellence.

I recommend heading to the Secret Garden for a tea and chin wag with friends.  It’s a lovely spot in a beautiful neighbourhood and I hope to return in the future for more brownies and creamy earl grey.

The Secret Garden (http://www.secretgardentea.com/) is located at 5559 West Boulevard in Vancouver.

1 Comment

Filed under Nom nom nom

One response to “The Secret Garden

  1. Michele

    I know a girl who would love that!

Leave a Reply

