Saturday in Paris

I spent Saturday in Paris with my new American friends (they’ve promised to let me be their house pet in California – woo hoo!)  We wandered around one of the areas we had already been to earlier in the week. I suck with directions and to me maps are something with pretty lines on them, so I followed them around like a stylish lost puppy and we went to the shop of Jean-Charles Rochoux for his strawberry chocolate bar.  He was charming just like the last time and gave us free samples of his to die for nutella.  

After that taste sensation, we had lunch at a little restaurant beside the Poilane bakery.  We all ordered sandwiches. I had the tomato, basil and mozzarella toasted goodness – miam miam!  Sadly I didn’t have room for dessert.  The lemon tart and strawberry confection looked tres tasty.  I guess it doesn’t help that I was coveting the dessert of the woman sitting beside me and kept staring at it.  Must try to keep food lust to a minimum….

 

Tomato, basil & mozzarella sandwich

Tomato, basil & mozzarella sandwich

After lunch, my future “humans” picked up a beautiful bread they had ordered at Poilane for one of their friends back in California.  I like to think it was just for me….yes….mine…all mine…!!

 

"My" bread from Poilane

"Rachel" bread from Poilane

4 Comments

Filed under Paris

4 responses to “Saturday in Paris

  1. Michele

    It’s me Moose. Love the photos. The sandwich looks like a high end pizza (and I’m sure much tastier than the PC frozen pizza which is actually pretty good). Buttered asparagus is good and there is nothing wrong with mixing vegetables and dairy in this case. I’m off to play tennis with one of the girls and maybe to a movie with one or both of them later depending how events unfold this afternoon. I’ll keep checking your blog. Have fun and stay safe.

    • Rach

      Thanks Moose! I think Ursula may have taken the photo of the sandwich b/c she had a better angle from where she was sitting – I can’t remember, esp since I’ve been taken photos non-stop all week 🙂 Have fun with the girls! Wish you were here. Am battling with a surly French washer/dryer. Debating watching Police Academy 2 in French….hmmm…badly dubbed Steve Gutenberg….

  2. That bread looks just amazing (and it has my name on it)!

    I am very jealous of your Paris adventures which seem to be shaping up rather deliciously.

    • Rach

      Thanks Rachel! I was half-tempted to steal it but didn’t think that would go over too well with my new friends.
      You wouldn’t believe how much I ate during the chocolate tour. I’m trying to recover now. Not sure if you can get it in your neck of the woods, but there’s this amazing butter here called Bordier. It’s to die for!! wish I could ship all of it back with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

