Day #5 – Fouquet confectioners

 

Outside Fouquet - the premiere confectioner for squirrels in Paris

Outside Fouquet - the premiere confectioner for squirrels in Paris

 

 

My final day of the chocolate tour was spent at Fouquet, which is one of Paris’ oldest confectioners and is apparently run by squirrels….Not only do they make chocolates, but also caramels, beautiful sugar cubes, squishy fruit jelly candies and marshmallows.  We were fortunate enough to watch the chocolatiers at work making coconut filled chocolates and praline and getting to taste mint marshmallows, a variety of chocolates (including those coconut ones) and those squishy fruit jellies.  It was a wonderful way to spend my final morning of the tour and one that I won’t soon forget.  I only wished they sold the tins separately…..

P5150019

 

Squishy pretty fruit jellies

Squishy pretty fruit jellies

That evening we had an exquisite dinner at Le Violon d’Ingres (at least I think that’s the name).  My butter addiction is something fierce right about now and angioplasty may end up becoming necessary when I get home.  Luckily I could cancel out some of the butter by eating a ton of asparagus, which is incredible (but I try not to mix the two!)  For dessert, pretty much all of us ordered the vanille souffle, served with salted caramel.  Now who wouldn’t love to have a small creamer filled with salted caramel on their table….and no dinner guests, this is not going to become a tradition in my home, but with enough convincing I may change my mind….Also, the meal was highly amusing for the level of disdain French diners directed at a crying baby (whose parents seemed to muzzle him somehow) and our table for being a bit too boisterous.  I found the stares of this one guy to be super fantastique and it was the perfect ending to a perfect food tour of Paris 🙂

 

Freshly enrobed chocolates at Fouquet

Freshly enrobed chocolates at Fouquet

 

Vanilla souffle with salted buttery caramel sauce

Vanilla souffle with salted buttery caramel sauce

Leave a comment

Filed under Nom nom nom, Paris

Leave a Reply

