Day #4 – the Market & La Maison du Chocolat

By this time, I think I may be developing diabetes from all of this food.  All I know is I wish I had packed a bunch of muu muus because my clothing is rather snug at this point.  Anyway, after stuffing my pie hole with breakfast at the hotel (strawberry jam + croissants = happy), we went to the market at the Bastille.  Apparently it is only open a few days a week, but there are all kinds of things you can get there – cheese, fruit, vegetables, honey – even giant strawberry marshmallow candies.  I must admit, a lot of the fish and meat stalls kind of grossed me out, but it was amazing to look at all of the beautiful produce available, especially kinds unavailable in Canada.

 

Candy vendor at the market

Candy vendor at the market

After the market visit we went to the most stunning Place de Vosges apartment of a friend of David Lebovitz.  Let’s just say if felt like I stepped into the society pages of Vanity Fair magazine.  Let’s just say the dog who lives there is the luckiest dog I’ve ever met! After this brief sojourn into the world of high society, we went for lunch at a neighbourhood bistro and then went off to La Maison du Chocolat for another tasting.

The staff at Masion du Chocolat were incredibly charming and provided each of us with a plate of chocolates to taste.  Afterwards, one of my lovely new friends from the trip assisted in making chocolate raspberry ganache for us all.  Let’s just say I wanted to use that on a chocolate cake…

The night capped off with dinner aboard a wooden boat docked on the Seine that two of our hosts live on for part of the year.  They were the consummate hosts, feeding us the bounty we had scored from our morning market visit.  I had no idea butter and cheese were actual food groups for me now (sorry brown rice – you had your chance!)

 

Place des Vosges apartment

Place des Vosges apartment

 

Chocolate raspberry ganache at La Maison du Chocolat

Chocolate raspberry ganache at La Maison du Chocolat

3 Comments

Filed under Nom nom nom, Paris

3 responses to “Day #4 – the Market & La Maison du Chocolat

  1. Kookiemaster

    o.O

    Wow … I’m drooling here. Giant marshmallow strawberries … and pastel coloured nougat. Are those marshmallow bananas behind it? Were the stems on the strawberries also marshmallow? I now feel that Canada suffers from terminal marshmallow deficiency.

    • Rach

      I didn’t have time to do much more than snap that photo, but I did try some mint marshmallows today during a tasting of choco, caramels and candies. Fear they would get really crushed in my luggage and be stale by the time I got home b/c of the trip to Sweden and Ireland in June. However, if you’re willing to take the risk….i’d be happy to bring you some 🙂

  2. Ursula

    Candy and future Place des Vosges home pics, please!

Leave a Reply

